DIY: Scrunchie in 5 steps

Whilst the scrunchie has become a beloved and household fashion item in the UK over the last years, I have been met with a few bemused and disparaging looks at my choice of headwear over here on the European mainland. The most notable occasion was being quoted a Sex and the City episode by my German friend Mona, in order to explain her feelings about what was going on on the top of my head:

Whilst I admire Carrie’s enthusiasm in her hatred for all things scrunchie, i’ve gotta say I think she needs a firm push into 2014. Plus the fact that Carrie’s potency as a viable life guru has been pretty much negated by the amount of balderdash she has spurted out in her time (‘Are men just women with balls?’ being one of my personal favourites).

So, despite the shouts of Germans and Carries everywhere, here is my DIY Scrunchie tutorial, so you can make as many scrunchies as you want in as many crazy patterns, colours and sizes as your heart – and hair – desires!

——-

What you need:
– 18cm length of elastic, about 1cm wide
– 35cm length of fabric, about 10cm wide – the bigger you want your scrunchie to be, the wider your fabric should be
– sewing kit and thread to match your fabric colour (I bought some fabric from a local haberdashery shop, as well as using an old top that I liked the pattern of)
– safety pins
– scissors

How to make your scrunchie in five easy steps:
1. cut out your fabric and elastic to the lengths and widths you want (I used the measurements above)

2. once you have your long strip of fabric, fold it in half lengthways and inside out – sew tightly and with small stitches (this is important and saves a lot of mending later on!) along the length of the fabric, creating a fabric tube of sorts

3. turn your fabric tube the right way round (so what was on the outside is now on the inside)

4. thread the elastic through using a safety pin for ease, then sew the two ends of the elastic together

5. sew the two open ends of the fabric together – this will create the ‘scrunched’ effect, which also helps to hide any messy sewing! And you’re done 🙂

I have made two so far, and the best tip I can give you is to make your sewing neat, with small stitches. I used large and loose stitches with the first scrunchie I made, and it left a lot of gaping openings when I turned it the right way around in step 3.

Let me know if you make any useful adjustments to your scrunchies 🙂 Here are my finished products:

my first (messy stitches included) scrunchie

my first (messy stitches included) scrunchie

scrunchie take 2 - from an old top

scrunchie take 2 – much neater!

Leave a Reply

